Tooth and Talon by Alex Hernandez Review

35514817
Tooth and Talon by Alex Hernandez 3/5 Stars 308 pages
Published July 17th 2017 by EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing

In a world full of genetically modified humans and space ships, fifty eight year old Oya is going to live forever. Or, maybe not. Earth is almost abandoned, and our solar system is just the tip of the iceberg in this new world. Mars is inhabited by Raptors, more commonly referred to as Harpies; people that have altered themselves to have wings and talons.

 

The beginning of the book shows Oya visiting her one hundred and eighty five year old grandmother on her little island, still living on Earth. Everyone around her has evacuated, but she refuses to give up home that she can return it to it’s former glory. Oya is worried about her, but she seems fine for the most part. Her grandmother turns out to be probably my favourite character in the book, because she just believes in herself and the world so much that she’s almost able to will what she wants into existence, and I want to be like that.

 

The story itself is exciting, but a little hard to follow. For some reason I felt like I was missing something, like another book beforehand that more thoroughly explained terms, and appearances of things in the story. The third person viewpoint doesn’t bother me, and it’s jumps right into the action, but I get a little lost trying to follow the actual story. I just can’t imagine what’s happening with the characters because I can’t imagine them in general, and there’s a lot of words that I don’t know, that aren’t explained. Overall, though I did enjoy the story and think it was really unique and interesting. I think it has the potential to have a lot of fans.

 

If you’re looking for something futuristic and somewhat alien, than this is the book for you. It’s available here, and here’s a link to the author’s Twitter, if you’d like to keep up with them.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment