These Precious Scars (This Mortal Coil 0.5) by Emily Suvada Review

42074867
These Precious Scars (This Mortal Coil 0.5) by Emily Suvada 4/5 Stars 47 pages
Published September 25th 2018 by Simon & Schuster

I had never heard of this series before I picked up this book, but now that I’ve read it, I want more. Though we didn’t really get to know that much about the story that’s coming and also the world around them, this novella was enough to get me interested in the first full novel in the series, “This Mortal Coil”.

 

The story follows five eleven year old children, as they try to live their lives in a laboratory. Cole, Jun Bei, Anna, Ziana and Leoben all are being experimented on, and everything changes when a man named Brink, and his associate, Jezebel show up. The kids are then recruited to fight.

 

I honestly feel like I don’t know very much about this series or even the story in general from this short story, but it was exciting, and I want to know more. And I think that, that was the purpose. Don’t go into this book expecting a whole story, but more so a teaser of what’s to come, and honestly I can’t wait to check it out.

 

The book is available here, and here’s a link to the author’s Twitter, if you’d like to keep up with her.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment