Puppet by Pauline C. Harris Review

Have you thought about Pinocchio lately? Neither have I. But this retelling of the story sheds new light on it, following an orphaned sixteen year old girl who finds herself with superhuman powers, as she’s whisked into a world she would have never been able to imagine, and she’s forced to do things she would never have been able to do in her daily life.

4/5 Stars 246 pages
Published October 2014 by Patchwork Press

Penelope prefers to be called Pen, because she thinks her full name sounds like an old lady name. She’s had a sad life in an orphanage, wishing for her own family and even pretending that the man running it is her father. She steals to feel something, and then she’s caught, and forced to stay and work there five years after turning eighteen. That is, until Jed and James come into the picture.

Jed is a mad scientist in all senses. His son James, however, is very normal, and seems to be against his fathers experiments. Pen just gets dragged into it all because she just wants a home for herself, and an out of the only world that she knows. The price is that she’ll lose her human strength in exchange for superhuman almost robotic like strength, and eventually, the ability to lie.

Photo by Anna Shvets on Pexels.com

I never expected this book to be what it was actually about, and when I read the description I was really intrigued. I haven’t read anything like this before, and I was pleasantly surprised. Pen is a really relatable person despite her superhuman strength and speed. And the adventure she’s forced into is really exciting, I didn’t want to stop reading it once I started, and finished it in about a day.

Though this isn’t my absolute favourite book, I didn’t have any problems with it, and all the questions I had were answered by the end of the book. Though I do think that there could have been more explanation for some things, I don’t think it was necessary, and I did really enjoy reading it. If you’re looking for something really different to bring your outside your normal reading routine, then I recommend checking out this book for sure.

If you’d like a copy to check out for yourself, you can grab a copy here, through my Amazon Associates link!

And if you’d like to follow the author, you can do so here!

Thanks for reading! Hope you’re having a great day.

Leave a comment