Anathema (Cloud Prophet Trilogy #1) by Megg Jensen Review

5/5 Stars 206 pages
Published February 5th 2011 by Createspace

Though I’ve had this book for a really long time just sitting collecting imaginary dust on my ereader, I only just got around to reading it. And man, I wish I read it sooner. Way different than anything I’ve read lately, books like these have really brought me to love the fantasy and magical power genre, something I didn’t used to enjoy. I can’t wait to check out the second book in the trilogy.

Living as a slave her entire life has been hard, and life is about to get even harder when on the morning of her fifteenth birthday, with her branding ceremony just around the corner, Reychel’s best friend Ivy is missing from their bed. That means Reychel’s going to have to go through the traumatizing ceremony not only alone, but that she’s lost her only friend. She tries to go about the day like normal, with the new girl instead of Ivy helping her shave her head and in turn, she shaves her head too, and then goes about her chores. But Reychel’s different, and her owner knows it. He calls her into his study every day to gaze at the clouds, and tell him stories.

Photo by Dapo Abideen on Pexels.com

She’s horribly hurt and confused by the situation, until she finds a double sided coin with the word Anathema on the back. That gives her the information that she needs, now knowing that her friend hasn’t left her, but was instead kidnapped. That doesn’t help her personal situation, though. Until they come for her, too. That’s when she learns that the people kidnapping the slaves aren’t doing it to hurt them, but to help them. And that they only free the gifted slaves. But Reychel’s confused, because although everyone says that she’s gifted like them, she hasn’t the slightest idea what her gift is, and she’s horribly worried that she’ll never find it out.

Photo by Phil on Pexels.com

One thing I was worried about reading this book was that because the main character is only fifteen, that I wouldn’t be able to really get into the story like I can with other ones, but that wasn’t even a problem. I slipped right into the background and sat there until the end of the book, when I couldn’t help but want more. And I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. This was not only exciting, but also mysterious in the best way, and I really couldn’t get enough. I think if you like books about beings with tough lives but also magical powers, and trying to change the way that the world works, then this is a perfect choice for your next read.

If you’d like to grab a copy, you can do so here through my Amazon Associates link.

And if you’d like to keep up with the author, you can follow them on Twitter here!

Thanks for reading! I hope you’re doing well and staying safe.

Leave a comment