A Walk Through Hell, Volume 1 by Garth Ennis, Goran Sudžuka, Mike Marts & Rob Steen Review

Though I liked the cover for this book and the description sounded right up my alley, this book fell a little flat for me when compared to other horror comics. Though I’ve read a bunch of comics from Aftershock Comics before, I might have had my hopes a little high for the gore in this story. It is interesting, but it just wasn’t my new favourite story, and it was a little confusing with the flashbacks, or whatever they were. That being said, it wasn’t the worst, and I did like reading it.

 

42199506._SY475_
3/5 Stars 120 pages
Published December 11th 2018 by Aftershock Comics

It starts off with a man and a woman going through a mall with a baby. Someone shoots the baby point blank, and the woman holding it dies too. Turns out six people were murdered that day, just two days before Christmas. This is when we’re introduced to Special FBI Agents Shaw and McGregor, who are headed to their job, reading tweets about the murders the whole way.

 

Through their investigation of the murders, they’re lead to a warehouse where people go in, and they don’t come back out. The swat team outside kills themselves out of fear of the place, and before they can stop the special agents, they head on in. This is the beginning of the strangest day of their lives. Sort of a Silent Hill vibe, they are knocked unconscious by an unknown factor. Waking up, they realize that they have no pulse. They start hearing things, and then wonder if they’re both hallucinating when they find a man that just is blowing his head off over and over and over again. Have they been transported to Hell? Judging by the title, I would say yes.

 

With all that out of the way, let me say that what I didn’t like about this, was the kind of disconnected flashbacks that they were having while in this warehouse. I was confused by them, wondering how they got out and went to a diner or back to the station when everyone else couldn’t get out. And then I realized they were memories. I also was hoping for more gore than there was in this book, but that’s my bad. I liked the characters, but I didn’t really get to know them in this volume. The world they live in is like our own, but clearly there’s a hell on earth somehow.

 

Will I be reading the next volume? I’m not sure. I don’t have a favourite character, and I wasn’t super into the story, but I did think it was spooky and intriguing. It wasn’t my cup of tea, but who’s to say it won’t be yours? Check it out if you think you’d like it.

You can grab a copy for yourself here.

Here’s a link to the only one of the creator’s Twitter accounts I could find, if you’d like to keep up with them.

 

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think below, and I hope you have a good day.

Leave a comment