Fortuna Sworn (Fortuna Sworn #1) by K.J. Sutton Review

At first glance, I wasn’t sure I would even like this book. Though it has a beautiful cover, it seemed like the events that were leading up to the description were happening too fast, and at a third of the way through the book, I was confused where it was going. That all changed, however, and I became obsessed with the story, unable to put it down for a single second. I imagine that’s how a ton of other people will feel, too, after reading this book.

 

perf5.000x8.000.indd
5/5 Stars 310 pages
Published July 9th 2019 by Once Upon a Time Books, LLC

Beginning with a scene from over half way through the book, Fortuna is scrubbing her hands raw. She’s just killed someone, and she’s never going to forget it. That’s where it snaps back to two weeks before, when she was kidnapped, thrown into a cage, and then thrown into a van. The paranormal, or the Fallen, as they’re referred to in this book, are more often than not hunted for sport, and meat, as humans are supposedly able to gain powers from eating them. They thought she was a werewolf, or a faerie, but she’s a Nightmare.

 

Being a Nightmare, she’s able to rout around in a person’s head, finding their worst fear, and manifesting it. She thrives on heartache, fear, and anything else related to that. Of course the paranormal exist, and they’re all descendant from fallen angels, hence the name Fallen. Being sold in auctions, this is a brutal world for them, but Fortuna is stronger than even she knows.

 

This book is an exciting and heart wrenching tail of a long lost brother, and the land of the unseelie court. Though it’s not a new take on faeries, it is a new take on the paranormal in general, and I welcomed a change. I feel like there are so many books that are just the same story over and over, but this one wasn’t. Let me just add before I finish, that the ending was such a shocker to me. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

 

The book is available here, and here’s a link to the author’s Twitter, if you’d like to keep up with them.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment