Little Girls by Nicholas Aflleje, Sarah Delaine, Ashley Lanni, & Adam Wollet Review

42835831
5/5 Stars 176 pages
Published April 30th 2019 by Image Comics

Little Girls is a story about two young girls who decide to take matters into their own hands when hyena’s begin to overrun their small town of Harar, Ethiopia in 2004. Though Sam is used to being alone and just putting up with life, things start to break the cycle when she stands up for another girl at school.  The two become fast friends, and even start to “report” on the problem, which really is just trying to fix it themselves.

 

I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into with this book based off of the cover alone, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the art was unlike anything I’ve seen lately, and that the story was also very unique. I loved the giant hyena that they face off with, it’s so creepy. This is just one of those books that I couldn’t stop reading once I started it, and at almost two hundred pages, I’m surprised I didn’t need to stop for even a minute.

 

My favourite character had to be the giant hyena that they call it, just based off of creepiness alone. It’s something I won’t be able to forget, and I loved it. I definitely recommend checking this book out no matter what kind of graphic novels you like to read, because it’s just that interesting. I’d love to get a paper copy for my bookshelf just to show people.

 

The book is available here, and here’s a link to some of the creator’s Twitter accounts, if you’d like to keep up with them.

 

https://twitter.com/SarahdeLaine

https://twitter.com/Ashley_Lanni

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment