The Dead Hand, Vol 1: Cold War Relics by Kyle Higgins, Stephen Mooney, & Jordie Bellaire Review

38812874
The Dead Hand, Vol 1: Cold War Relics by Kyle Higgins, Stephen Mooney, & Jordie Bellaire 5/5 Stars 152 pages
Published October 9th 2018 by Image Comics

In November of 1991, the Soviet Union is coming to an end. What happened to the things they had, the secluded cities and the nuclear weapons, and then supercomputers, is unknown to them. In this book is an action packed, blood filled, fight to the death for a special kind of AI in a supercomputer, one named Roger, who think’s he’s a ten year old boy.

 

I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into when I started this book, but I knew I was going to love it. One things that really stood out for me, aside from the entire story line, was the character design, I loved their fighting gear and just the way they interacted with the world around them. Carter, an American soldier, has come for weapons but finds a group of scientists and their families, left in an old Cold War city to starve to death after the war. Thirty years in the future however, there aren’t any people left, only Roger, and one day a hiker in Siberia stumbles upon him and changes the fate of the world.

 

I really enjoyed not only getting to see the story from thirty years in the past as well as in the present day, but also getting to know the characters at a childhood level. Carter always wanted to be a superhero, and it’s plain to see when we get to know him as a child. He would do anything for his country, and though he doesn’t always trust their morals, he does what needs to be done.

 

In the end, I really enjoyed reading this book, and definitely would love to get a copy for my bookshelf. It’s gory and exciting, and everything I hoped for it to be and more. I definitely recommend you check it out if you get the chance, and like books like this. I don’t really have anything to compare it to at the moment. It’s available here, and here are some links to the creators Twitter pages.

 

https://twitter.com/KyleDHiggins

https://twitter.com/whoajordie

https://twitter.com/Stephen_Mooney?lang=en

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment