Glitterbomb, Vol. 1: Red Carpet by Jim Zub, Djibril Morissette-Phan, & K. Michael Russell Review

32473024
Glitterbomb, Vol. 1: Red Carpet by Jim Zub, Djibril Morissette-Phan, & K. Michael Russell 4/5 Stars 136 pages
Published March 7th 2017 by Image Comics

If you’re looking for a comic filled with blood and monsters, then this is for you. It begins with a man who gets stabbed with a woman’s massive tongue spike. She just yells, “Oh god it happened again”, and that’s it. What an opening, right?

The story follows Farrah, a single mother and actress. After not getting the job she desperately wants, she goes for a swim at the beach. What she doesn’t know, is there’s something down there that’s unlike anything I’ve seen, and she’s seen before. It possess her quickly, and wreaks havoc by killing people through her body. It’s spikey and dark and scary and I can’t even begin to guess what it is.

The art is a perfect match for this, and the cover didn’t give me any idea what was inside this book. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down until I was finished. It’s messy and violent, and was just what I was looking for to read between other, very different, things. It’s very short, and because of that, I can’t wait to see what happens in the next volume. The book is available here, and here are some links to the creators Twitter accounts so you can keep up with them.

https://twitter.com/jimzub

https://twitter.com/DjibrilMP?lang=en

https://twitter.com/kmichaelrussell?lang=en

 

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a comment