Snow White Learns Witchcraft: Stories and Poems by Theodora Goss Review

42621995
Snow White Learns Witchcraft: Stories and Poems by Theodora Goss 4/5 Stars 224 pages
Published February 5th 2019 by Mythic Delirium Books

If you’re into imaginative short stories that give a new take on old fairy tales, than this is the book you need to pick up next. Though I’m not a big fan of short story books in general, this one really changed my mind about them, and now I’m thinking I’m really missing out by skipping over them. If you’re like me, then definitely check this out.

 

This book has fairy tales that we all know and love, such as sleeping beauty, and snow white, but gives them a new twist. A dog wanders into the castle that’s frozen in time, and lives a life with a very happy ending because of it. Snow white wonders if there should have been more to her life. Prince Charming brings a bulldozer to sleeping beauty’s castle.

 

I loved almost every single story and poem in this book, and that’s something I wasn’t expecting when I first started it. Honestly, I didn’t think I was even going to be able to get through this book when I started reading it, but I pushed through and came out happy on the other side. It even has quotes that I would love to stick with me, like “No answer is better than a foolish one.”

 

Overall, this is something I wouldn’t have picked up at first glance, but I’m glad I got the chance to fully read it. If you’re into fairy tale re-telling’s with an interesting twist, than this is the book for you. Definitely check it out if you get the chance!

 

The book is available here, and here’s a link to the author’s Twitter.

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment