Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink #1) by Mindy McGinnis Review

5/5 Stars 309 pages
Published September 24th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books

After I finished the last apocalyptic fiction book I read, I really was just wanting more, and then scrolling through my e-reader I stumbled on this book. First of all, let me just say that I love this book cover so much more than any of the other’s I’ve seen lately. It’s just so interesting and fitting for the story inside that I just want a copy for my bookshelf to look at. And re-read, of course.

Following a young teen girl named Lynn, it tells her story through the third person viewpoint at her family’s farmhouse, they’ve lived in it for generations. Though, this isn’t just another young adult book about a girl on a farm. The world she lives in is a desolate one, running out of water and ravaged by disease in the cities. At the beginning of the book it’s just her and her mother, but that quickly changes.

Photo by Saunak Shah on Pexels.com

In this book, she has to face a lot of hard situations. Death, is the biggest one. Also, living in a world where her mother is the only person to trust and everyone else should be shot dead is a hard mindset to work herself out of. Protecting her home’s pond is all she’s ever known, that and hunting, killing, and just basically surviving for the most part. But she’s strong, and she can do anything she puts her mind to.

Photo by Octoptimist on Pexels.com

After discovering a small family of a pregnant mother, an uncle, and a young girl thrust into her arms, she has to not only take care of herself, but now a small child. With help from her only trustworthy neighbour, she learns to open up to the outside world and really grow into a live that isn’t just about surviving, and I think that’s something that everyone should learn, even if it’s not as extreme as the problems in this book.

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels.com

From the moment I picked it up, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to put it down. Finishing the entire thing in just two days, I couldn’t stop thinking about what was going to happen next when I wasn’t reading it. It’s one of those books where you start it and you just can’t stop. I laid in the bath for almost 3 hours reading it, and after that I read it to go to sleep, when I woke up, and then all afternoon again. It’s everything I could want and more in a book, and I really mean it when I say I want a copy for my shelf. All the questions I had about it were answered by the end of the book, and though it ended at a very nice spot, I did notice that there’s a sequel, and I’d love to check that out, if I could get my hands on it.

If you’d like to get a copy for yourself, you can do so here.

Here’s a link to the author’s Twitter, if you’d like to follow them.

Thanks for reading! I can’t get this book out of my head, and I have a feeling that you won’t be able to either if you ever check it out. If you’d like to chat about it, I’d love to in the comments! I hope you have a good day, and stay safe.

One thought on “Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink #1) by Mindy McGinnis Review

Leave a comment